Just when you think…

I was going to blog on Friday. It has been a while, and I had started feeling good again. I made it back to my yoga class two weeks ago after a ridiculous amount of time off. I was feeling good in myself, and the chaos which was work before Christmas, has seemed to calm down a little, so life is looking good.

But…the alarm went off last Friday morning at 7am. I turned over to switch it off and nearly fell out of bed. Whoa!. Head spin!. So I decided to lay on my side for a while till it passed. The next thing I knew, the hero was putting my cuppa on the bedside table. I managed to look at the clock. 08:25am. I said good morning to the hero, whilst still laying on my side with the duvet pulled up to my ears. He asked if I was ok?. ‘Just a bit of vertigo’ I replied.

I then managed to sit myself up and take a sip of my morning coffee. Then I thought I could wobble to the bathroom. One foot on the floor. Done. Second foot on the floor. No problem. Tried to stand to walk, and the room spun so fast, I fell back onto the bed. I shouted to the hero, which seemed as if he did fly up the stairs, and was by my side in no time, walking me to the bathroom. I managed to do what I needed to on my own, then it was a wobbly, head, room spinning, guided walk back to bed.

My GP kindly wrote me a prescription on Saturday which the hero collected. The vertigo has eased, but I am still in bed. It is now Monday.

At first I panicked. When you have MS, as soon as you experience ‘sickness’, you immediately think its MS related. So, on Friday morning after I phoned into work, I’m self diagnosing myself. I have a new lesion. My old lesions are getting bigger. My MS is getting worse. My body was tricking me in believing I was feeling better?. You get the picture!.

Now, I am self diagnosing myself with a sinus infection. Since I have been self injecting with Plegridy, my white blood count is still low, it always feels I have a cold, and my sinuses have been blocked. My dentist even pointed out my blocked sinuses from my recent tooth x- ray. So, I am not panicking. Instead, I am waiting to hear back from my MS Nurse, before I make a doctors appointment.

If it’s sinus related, I can try and clear this myself. Eucalyptus, hot water, and lots of steam sound appealing. If it’s part of a number of MS related symptoms, then let it be. It knocked me off my feet, literally, for three days, and I could handle it, well, with a little help from my hero!.

I havent experienced numbness with the vertigo. I haven’t even experienced fatigue with the vertigo. I didn’t even have a lack of appetite!. I’ve been fed and watered with gorgeous, nutritous home made food. I’ve been bored, and because I haven’t had fatigue, I’ve been bored stuck in bed!.

But, I am going to wait until I am fully stable on my feet until I go back to work. I hate taking days off work, but I have learnt from past mistakes that it really isn’t wise returning to work before you feel 100%.  Or in an MSers case, near enough to feeling 100%!.

So, another bed day it is. I shall wait patiently to hear from my MS Nurse. I shall not get myself in a state. What will be, will be. I am full of life. I shall continue my meditation whilst stuck in bed for another day, and be grateful for what I have. If my attitude determines my outlook in life, then I reckon I will be ok!.

Keep on stopping to smell those roses. Life really is too short. :).

Namaste. x

Leave a comment