No two days are ever the same…

MS. No two days are ever the same.

I can plod along for days, and sometimes weeks feeling OK. At the moment, I am still at the end of a virus, I have Plegridy side-effects from Friday night and it’s also that “time of the month”.

Then yesterday happened…

I managed to get three and a half hours sleep on Sunday night. Three and a half hours sleep when you suffer with MS fatigue on a daily basis is no laughing matter. Even if you don’t suffer with MS fatigue, three and half hours sleep for anybody is not enough. Coffee doesn’t work. I had three cups of coffee by the time M woke at 7am.

I got out of bed at 9am and I managed to get dressed. Well, I put a clean t-shirt on together with my usual uniform of tracky pants. I even managed to style my “three day unwashed” hair (getting a Pixie cut a few years ago has been an absolute godsend)! I had breakfast and another cuppa. I tried to watch TV. I tried listening to the radio. I walked into the kitchen just staring into space. I then went back to bed at 12:30. I couldn’t sleep. I tossed and turned until 3:30pm. I was in pain. My head hurt. My back hurt. My hips hurt. My stomach hurt. I had this feeling of numbness around my hips, and panic set in, but nothing was numb.

I then cursed MS. I cursed MS for making it a battle to get through everyday illnesses like a virus, and a monthly cycle! I cursed MS for making life that little bit harder to even get through a morning. I cursed MS for being such a horrible and unpredictable disease. I cursed MS some more. I then got up, and waited for M to come home from work.

M hugged me, fed and watered me, and we had a nice evening together. I took a Magnesium supplement before I went to bed and at 10:30pm I fell asleep. I slept until 6:00 am.

Today I still have a bit of pain but after a good night’s sleep, I feel better than I did yesterday, and I am washed and dressed! As the sun is shining and it’s a beautiful day, I got out the house and took a little walk to the shops this morning – something I haven’t done since February and my body is grateful.

I bought some beautiful Sweet William flowers this morning.

MS. No two days are ever the same.

I hope you are all having a good week so far, and enjoying this beautiful weather if you can.

Namaste. x

2 thoughts on “No two days are ever the same…

  1. You’re right with how awful so little sleep is, and how the days can be so different. I’m not surprised you were cursing MS and illness and were so fed up with it all 😦 I’m glad M fed & watered you and you managed a better night. The flowers are beautiful 🌷and it’s great you managed a little pop to the shops, that’s a huge achievement in itself! xx

    Like

Leave a comment